meet the member: Emma tilbury

Meet Emma Tilbury, of EK private tuition. Emma, what made you start your own business?

I qualified as a teacher in 2008. After working in public relations for a few years, I was working as a head of department at a secondary school in Liverpool as head of English when I fell pregnant was Thomas. They would let me go part time after my mat leave. So it was a case of God what do I do now? Because there’s no way that I could continue to work full time for them. I was already exhausted and burnt out after getting them through Ofsted.

I took the risk to do tutoring full time after school. I tutored from 3pm till 9pm every week and usually all day on a Saturday – although I am being more kind to myself this year – and I also examined for two weeks on boards. I set up so that I would have more flexibility and be able to help others away from the restrictions of working in a school so that I could set up my own hours and have the availability of doing lessons either through zoom or face to face.

What do you enjoy the most about being an entrepreneur?

Freedom. Without a doubt.

Who or what helps you to stay organised?

Ella Iconic Diary, the daily diary, I complete it each Sunday evening for the week ahead. But I also use a Google calendar so I can sort or swap and change appointments.

I also use an online booking calendar Acuity Scheduling, so that I can promote and advertise my slots. People can see when I’ve got a cancellation and they’re able to book in for a one to one session.

Rank these 5 business activities in the order that you find them the most enjoyable:

1.Putting plans into action

2.Marketing

3.Business planning

4.Admin

5.Finances

What do you enjoy most about being a member of The OEC?

The ability to network with other like minded business owners.

How has being a member of The OEC helped with your confidence in business?

It is helping me to become more visible.

What is your top tip for maintaining a healthy business mindset?

Ever since being little I’ve needed loads and loads of sleep – if I don’t get seven to eight hours then I am an absolute crank. So it’s really really important for me to get seven to eight hours sleep at night.

I also walk 10,000 steps a day because I don’t drive, so by the time I’ve taken both the kids to school and the nursery and got back or been out and about I’ve got my 10,000 steps in. I do my best to go to the gym twice a week as well.

Healthy body, healthy mind, I have to move otherwise I do find if I don’t have any form of exercise I start feeling really depressed. And then I lose motivation, and I just don’t want to get into that mindset

How do you help your clients?

I support students to become more independent learners and to achieve their goals whether that’s passing their GCSEs, resetting the GCSEs, passing their A- levels, wanting to get the best possible grade in the SATs.

I offer two main services and hopefully two more extras later on in the year:

  1. One to one private tuition in Maths and English either face to face or via zoom.
  2. A parent coaching call whereby we can have an hour session, either over the telephone or virtually, where I can help with any questions or queries or any issues that they may have. So for example, if a parent is thinking that their child is dyslexic, but they’re not getting anywhere with the school, I can point them in the right direction for help and advice.

This year, I’m hoping to get two things off the ground, although I don’t know when I’m going to find the time to do it:

  • A maths confidence class for teenagers or small group class to help teenagers boost their confidence and their ability in maths
  • Meditation class session, either face to face or online, for primarily GCSE students but I’m also thinking about offering it out to students who are about to leave year six and go on to high school.

What have been your biggest business wins over the last 12 months?

Having a waiting list and another year of amazing exam results.

Who are you looking to work with and how can people get in touch?

Parents of students aged 7 – 16 who are looking for a Maths or English tutor.

Instagram @newtontutor
Facebook: EK Private Tuition

Tell us a fun fact about yourself:

I was stung by a jellyfish! I was born in Lancashire but due to my dad’s job (he was a civil engineer and has worked all over the world) we moved to South Africa and lived there for seven and a half years before we got back home. When we were in South Africa, there was one day where I was on the beach and my mom was cooking, I was in her arms and we were walking along the beach. All of a sudden the wave crashed up and a jellyfish – a Portuguese man of war – came out of the sea and latched itself on to my right shoulder, I screamed and then my mom pushed it off and it went back in the sea.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart